World News

Pakistan’s 18 Prime Minister is elected former petroleum minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, replacing veteran leader Nawaz Sharif over Panama Papers scandal.

Islamabad: Pakistani lawmakers on Tuesday elected former petroleum minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as the country’s 18th Prime Minister, replacing three-time premier Nawaz Sharif who was last week disqualified for life by the Supreme Court in the Panama Papers scandal case.

Mr. Abbasi won majority in the House gaining 221 votes out of 342. Naveed Qamar of Pakistan Peoples Party  got 47 votes, Sheikh Rashid Ahmed of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf got 33, while Jamaat-e-Islami’s Sahibzada Tariqullah managed to secure just four votes only.

Mr. Abbasi, who is believed to be a close confidant of former PM, is expected to hold the office until Nawaz Sharif`s younger brother Shahbaz, a provincial minister, is eligible to be elected to the National Assembly and take over  to the premiership.

As the 18th prime minister, Mr.  Abbasi is scheduled to take oath @ a special ceremony, which will be organised at President Mamnoon Hussain’s official residence.

Mr. Abbasi Born on December 27, 1958, in the southern port city of Karachi, Abbasi is primarily an electrical engineer and a businessman. He has worked in US and Saudi Arabia after attaining a master’s degree from George Washington University in the US.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *